To edit, change nappies or clean house? That is the question by JD’L

November 17, 2008 at 3:29 pm 4 comments

This is a very swift entry about the realities of working part time, writing the other part of the time and being a parent…

Today I’m at home with mini me while her mum is out at work. Tomorrow, the role-reversal reverses and I’m out at work.Every time I sit down to make corrections into my proof copy of The Garbage Man a household management task springs into focus – wash the clothes, change a nappy, put clothes in the dryer, clean the house, iron the shirts, wash up, sterilise the feeding bottles, put baby down for nap, pick baby up, put baby down, pick baby up, put baby down, pick baby up, weep (me, not the baby), change nappy, feed baby, put baby down, worry about the dusting…

househusbandmimic

Bill and I have set a loose deadline of 27th November to complete the corrections by. We’ll be in London that day meeting the Bloody Books team to discuss our Spring ’09 launch strategies.

If I do manage this editing feat – and it seems unlikely because the proof is full of my own stupid errors – I’m sure the copy I hand in will be stained with baby puke, fabric softener and tears of frustration. I only hope they’ll still be able to read it.

Most of the time being a writer really isn’t very exciting.

Entry filed under: Publishing News. Tags: , , .

Apparitions Appear Tonight on BBC One! Digital Wasteland #2

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. thebonebreaker  |  November 17, 2008 at 8:05 pm

    The joys of Fatherhood! 🙂

    Reply
  • 2. billhussey  |  November 17, 2008 at 9:35 pm

    Mr D’Lacey, with this pic you have officially just posted the scariest thing yet seen at Horror Reanimated! Rest assured, my own edit is progressing with the same sluggish momentum…

    Reply
  • 3. Allison Dickson  |  November 18, 2008 at 4:50 am

    I can relate all too well about this. I currently decided to embark upon a quest of literary masochism called NaNoWriMo, knowing full well that such a marathon approach to writing does not mesh very well at all with my writing style or my other job as a stay at home parent to two children who love to my office space to engage in wrestling matches. Of course, I could say that I should perhaps not have my writing space be in the living room, but we must do what we can. That’s why God invented the iPod and why Sony made great earbuds that I can jam way into my ear canals in order to shut out all outside noise. Of course, I can only do this when their father is home.

    You’re right. This isn’t glamorous at all.

    By the way, I’ve been following your successes and I’m quite thrilled for you. Maybe one day we will cross paths in our quests to become awesomely famous and influential. lol

    Reply
  • 4. josephdlacey  |  November 19, 2008 at 4:00 pm

    Cheers,Jason!

    Bill, I now know what frightens you.

    Thanks, Allison. I shouldn’t complain really – being a dad is wonderful. I too look forward to awesome fame and influence…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Recent Posts

Joseph D’Lacey’s Online Fiction


